Become a Member!

Environmental Awards Dinner May 10, 2013

Environmental Awards Dinner May 10, 2013

The annual KPB Environmental Awards Dinner was held on Friday May 10, 2013 from 7:00PM – 9:00PM at the Pearland Community Center, located at 3523 Liberty Dr., Pearland, TX. 77581

Check out this slide show from our event:

Each year, Keep Pearland Beautiful honors those in our community who began a green and sustainable movement in Pearland. In addition to the awards, KPB also administered the Joe Miller Environmental Scholarship to 5 graduating Pearland high school seniors who are pursuing higher education.

KPB awarded 8 KIPPERS (Kids in Pearland Preserving the Environment through Responsible Service), two from each of the PISD Middle Schools (Alexander, Jamison, Rogers, and Sablatura).

KPB awarded the following awards: Janice Hallisey (Go Getter Award), Melanie Newell, Just Between Friends South Houston (Nick Santoro Re-Use Award), Judy Parsons and Karen Christensen, Rogers Garden KIPPERS (Educators of the Year Award), Pearland Lumber/Ace Hardware (Business of the Year), Dawson NJROTC and Cub Scout Pack 404 (Clean-up Awards), Ian Clowes, City of Pearland (Beautification Award), Pearland Youth Action Council (Volunteers of the Year Award), and Mark Loftice, Texas Honing (Weldon Flanakin Recycler of the Year Award). KPB also presented a special Tour De Lites Quilt to Helen Beckman, former City Council member and current Hike and Bike Committee Chair.

The Joe Miller Environmental Scholarship was awarded to: Shelby Laws, Grace Li, Rima Patel, Haiyin Wang, and Christian Wiggins.

The dinner was catered by Casa Ole, Pearland.

The event was sponsored by Shadow Creek Ranch Development, A&A Cleaning, Frost Bank, H-E-B Plus!, Hometown Bank, and the Pearland Reporter News.



Leave a Reply